The Isis is the longest-running independent student magazine in the UK. It has been through a lot since being established at Oxford University in 1892. Bailed out by Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton and Nigella Lawson at various points in its history, The Isis has survived against all odds.

We have been banned in Germany, threatened by blackmail, and mocked by Punch Magazine. Along the way our reporters have been prosecuted under the Official Secrets Act, hosted by Wikileaks, and forced to walk out over threats of editorial censorship during The Isis’s radical left-wing heyday.

On this journey, our ranks have included the likes of Evelyn Waugh, Sylvia Plath, Terry Jones, Graham Greene, Michael Foot, Richard Ingrams, Hilaire Belloc, and of course Mostyn Turtle Piggott, our delightfully eccentric founder.

Now, we run events, a website packed with regularly updated content, and once a term our print issue finds its way into Oxford accompanied by a digital version exclusively posted on our website. There you’ll find the best of student journalism and design, carefully assembled by the Isis team.

We have been shortlisted for several awards, including Best Website, Guardian Student Media Awards 2015, and Best Magazine Design and Best Specialist Publication, SPA Awards 2017.

Check us out on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Spotify.

The current editors are Mukahang Limbu (Queen’s) and Rita Kimijima-Dennemeyer (St Hugh’s). You can find us on Facebook, Twitter @the_isis, and Instagram @theisismagazine. If you’re interested in advertising in our magazine or online, joining our mailing list, pitching articles, fiction or visuals, or anything else, get in touch with us at isiseditor@gmail.com (please note that anyone from any university can pitch).


The Isis Team, Michaelmas Term 2021

Editors-in-Chief: Mukahang Limbu and Rita Kimijima-Dennemeyer


Deputy Editors:

Ayna Li Taira, Eleanor Cousins Brown, Kalli Dockrill, Natalie Cheung, Shaina Sangha


Magazine Non – Fiction Directors:

Gee Ren Chee, Liz Murphy


Online Non-Fiction Directors:

Maggie Wang, Corrina Summers


Magazine Non-Fiction Editors:

Grace Lawrence, Emily Luo, Yasmin Nguyen, Kiana Rezakhanlou


Online Non-Fiction Editors:

Aqsa Lone, Charlotte Murphy, Charlie Taylor, Luke Watanabe Chilvers


Magazine Fiction Directors:

Natalie Perman, Eira Murphy


Online Fiction Directors:

Harry Lauchlan, Claire Ion


Magazine Fiction Editors:

Kate Greenberg, Stepan Mysko von Schultze, Leo Hessian, Tamsyn Changler, Cia Mangat


Online Fiction Editors:

Bianca Pasca, Sonya Ribner, Katie Kirkpatrick, Sze Ann Pang, Andre Dobronic Parola


Creative Directors:

Joe Dobbyn, Tate Tsang


Creative Team/Media Contributors:

Natalie Hytiroglou, Alan Sulaivany, Bee Eveleigh-Evans, Alisa Musatova, Elizabeth Tiskina, Eloise Fabre, Liv Fugger


Investigations Directors:

Sasha Mills, Lauren Shirreff


Investigations Team: 

Matilda Houston-Brown, Skye Fitzgerald-McShane, Ayesha Khan, Madeleine Wright, Heeyoung Tae, Sara Hasmi


Social Media Directors:

Eilidh Galloway


Social Media Team:

Lucy Thynne, Bella Watts, Pearl Hong, Khadijah Hafeji


Media Director:

Sunny Parke, Asa Breuss-Burgess


Media Contributors:

Emma Rath, Ned Summers, Maya Thapa, Agata Gwincinska, Aaron Hammond Duncan, Toby Philips, Faith Wong, Jigyasa Anand


Events Director:

Isaac Hudd