The ISIS is the longest-running independent student magazine in the UK. It has been through a lot since being established at Oxford University in 1892. Bailed out by Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton and Nigella Lawson at various points in its history, The ISIS has survived against all odds.

We have been banned in Germany, threatened by blackmail, and mocked by Punch Magazine. Along the way our reporters have been prosecuted under the Official Secrets Act, hosted by Wikileaks, and forced to walk out over threats of editorial censorship during The ISIS’s radical left-wing heyday.

On this journey, our ranks have included the likes of Evelyn Waugh, Sylvia Plath, Terry Jones, Graham Greene, David Dimbleby, Michael Foot, Richard Ingrams, Hilaire Belloc, and of course Mostyn Turtle Piggott, our delightfully eccentric founder.

Now, we run events, a website and once a term our print issue finds its way into Oxford accompanied by a digital version exclusively posted on our website. There you’ll find the best of student journalism and design, carefully assembled by the ISIS team.

The current editors are Rosie Collier and Samuel Dunnett. You can find us on Facebook, Twitter @the_isis, and Instagram @theisismagazine. If you’re interested in joining our mailing list, pitching articles or visuals, or anything else, get in touch with us at editor@isismagazine.org.uk.

The ISIS staff, Michaelmas 2016:

Editors: Rosie Collier and Samuel Dunnett

Deputy Editors: Lily Begg, Ellie Gomes, TJ Jordan, Niloo Sharifi

Sub-Editors: Billie Esplen, Julieta Caldas, Mouki Kambouroglou, Gabriella Mancey Jones, Maddie Pollard, Ailbhe Rea

Fiction Director: Summer Koo

Fiction Team:  Jess Brown, Kat Dixon-Ward, Thomas Graus, Gazelle Mba,  Flo Ward

Creative Director: Vicky Robinson

Creatives: Megan Black, Florrie Engleback,  Anjelica Smerin, Kate Weir

Creative Events: Grace Linden

Broadcasting Director: Max Reynolds

Broadcasting Team: Lucy Flemming-Brown, Alex Hine, Oscar McNab, Georgia Robson, Jamie Tahsin, Tobi Thomas

Events Directors: Alexandra Luo and Tess Hulton

Events Team:  Ted Mair, Zoe Harris-Wallis

Business Manager: Thomas Munro

Business Team: Richard Birch, Mary Ormerod, Aditya Badaya

Review Editor: Frey Kwa Hawking

Blog Writers: Katty Cowles, Maddie Duperouzel,Harrison Fannon, Patrick Grealey, Shahryar Iravani, Carl du Jeu, Noush Kavanagh, Jeevan Ravindran, Michael Sackur, Nina Sandelson, Abhisvara Sinha